عرض رسائل مدرستنا

قراءة التوقعات

تعلم القراءة
إن تعليم أطفالنا القراءة والكتابة بشكل مستقل سيزودهم بالمهارات الأساسية التي يحتاجون إليها للوصول إلى بقية المناهج الدراسية بالإضافة إلى التأثير بشكل كبير على احترام الذات وفرص الحياة المستقبلية.
القدرة على فك تشفير النص وحده لا يكفي. يحتاج الأطفال إلى فهم ما يقرأونه ويحتاجون إلى تعلم مهارات الفهم الرئيسية منذ سن مبكرة. يتم ذلك من خلال أنشطة الفهم المرتبطة بالكتب التي يقرأونها. نحن نعلم أن القراء الجيدين يتساءلون, تحقق وانخرط في فهمهم الخاص وهذه بعض المهارات التي نسعى لتطويرها. يجب تدريس فك الشفرة والفهم في نفس الوقت.
يركز منهجنا الدراسي بقوة على التعلم واكتساب مفردات جديدة. يحتاج الأطفال إلى معرفة معنى الكلمات من أجل فهم ما قرأوه. يتم اختيار النصوص بعناية مع أخذ ذلك في الاعتبار بحيث يتعرض الأطفال لمفردات غنية وواسعة.

القراءة في المنزل والقراءة من أجل المتعة
الأهم من ذلك كله, في جميع مجموعات السنة, نشجع الأطفال على القراءة في المنزل كل ليلة. تمنحك مشاركة الكتاب مع طفلك الفرصة للهروب إلى عالم آخر مع طفلك ويمكن أن تكون الرابطة والاسترخاء. ستساعد القراءة من أجل المتعة على تطوير مفردات طفلك, الاتصالات, التقمص العاطفي, الخيال والتركيز. ما إذا كان هذا هو مشاركة الكتب من خلال القراءة معًا (عندما يكون الأطفال في الحضانة, استقبال, سنوات 1, 2 و 3 هذا أمر بالغ الأهمية) أو البدء في القراءة بشكل مستقل, ننصح جميع الأطفال بالقراءة على الأقل 10 دقائق في اليوم. من الناحية المثالية, 20 دقائق في اليوم ستكون الأكثر فائدة.

القراءة فقط 20 دقائق في اليوم = 1.8 مليون كلمة في السنة!

بمجرد قراءة الطفل بشكل مستقل, لا يزالون بحاجة إلى أن يتمكنوا من إعادة بيع نصوصهم بشكل متماسك وثقة لأحد الوالدين / مقدم الرعاية باستخدام مفردات الكتاب والإجابة على الأسئلة حول ما يقرؤونه.

قراءة السجلات
يتم تزويد كل طفل بسجل قراءة / مذكرات لتسجيل ما كان يقرأه. كما يوفر فرصة للآباء / مقدمي الرعاية للتعليق على قراءة أطفالهم. عندما يوقع الآباء / مقدمو الرعاية أنهم استمعوا إلى طفلهم ، فإن قراءة هذا يشير إلى هيئة التدريس أن الطفل جاهز لإرسال كتب جديدة إلى المنزل.

العصابات الملونة
يستخدم الناشرون المختلفون مخططات مختلفة لذلك نضع ملصقاتنا الملونة على الكتب. يرجى الرجوع إلى الملصقات التي نضعها لمعرفة ما هو اللون الذي يقرأه طفلك.

View our School Letters

Reading Expectations

Learning to read
Teaching our children to read and write independently will provide them with the key skills they need to access the rest of the curriculum as well as impact massively on their self-esteem and future life chances.
Being able to decode a text alone though is not enough. Children need to understand what they are reading and need to be taught key comprehension skills from an early age. This is done through comprehension activities linked to the books they are reading. We know that good readers question, check and engage with their own understanding and these are some of the skills we seek to develop. Decoding and comprehension need to be taught at the same time.
Our curriculum has a strong emphasis on learning and acquiring new vocabulary. Children need to know what words mean in order to understand what they have read. Texts are chosen carefully with this in mind so that children are exposed to a rich and wide vocabulary.

Reading at home and reading for pleasure
Most importantly of all, in all year groups, we encourage children to be reading at home every night. Sharing a book together with your child gives you the opportunity to escape into another world with your child and can be bonding and relaxing. Reading for pleasure will help develop your child’s vocabulary, communication, empathy, imagination and concentration. Whether this is sharing books by reading together (when children are in Nursery, Reception, Years 1, 2 and 3 this is crucial) or beginning to read more independently, we advise that all children read for at least 10 minutes a day. Ideally, 20 minutes a day would be the most beneficial.

Reading for just 20 minutes a day = 1.8 million words a year!

Once a child is reading independently, they still need to be able to retell their texts coherently and confidently to a parent/carer using book vocabulary and answer questions about what they are reading.

Reading records
Every child is provided with a reading record/diary to record what they have been reading. It also provides an opportunity for parents/carers to comment on their child’s reading. When parents/carers sign that they have listened to their child read this indicates to teaching staff that the child is ready for new books to be sent home.

Colour bands
Different publishers use different schemes so we put our own colour stickers on the books. Please refer to the stickers that we put on to see what colour band your child is reading.